Years 7-10

Our Year 7–10 curriculum is structured to engage students in authentic learning to develop logical and creative thinking and to prepare learners for an ever-changing world. Our students are encouraged to be inquiring and reflective thinkers, effective communicators, responsible citizens and self-directed and ethical people.

Year 7-10 students have a comprehensive curriculum in which students study core subjects in addition to having over 30 elective subject choices. All students in Years 7 – 10 undertake a common core curriculum, which comprises of six subjects:

  • Religious Education
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Humanities
  • Science
  • Health & Physical Education

In Years 7–10 subjects are grouped by the following departments:

  • Department of Religious Education
  • Department of English
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Humanities
  • Department of Science
  • Department of Health & Physical Education
  • Department of Creative Arts
  • Department of Technology & Applied Studies - including Introduction to Vocational Education and Training Courses (Guilford Young College RTO No. 1129)

Detailed descriptions for each subject can be found in the

Timetables and Class Structure

Years 7–10 are made up of four streams, e.g. four groups of Year 7 students.

Each student in Years 7-10 is allocated a pastoral group who they meet with at the beginning of each day. More information about this set-up can be found on the Learning and Wellbeing page

Year 7 to 10 students start the school day at 8.40am and finish the day at 3.19pm. The day is made up of seven instructional periods with 20 minutes for recess and 40 minutes for lunch.

Each Year 7-10 student is given a timetable which outlines the allocation of their core and elective subjects. Subjects are spread out over a 10 day timetable, broken up into 'Week 1′ and 'Week 2′.